Healthy Salads

Even if I have in my possession a cookbook called 100+ types of salads, I find myself going into a salad rut, i.e., I often make the same kinds of salads, again and again. So I told myself that from now on, I’ll make an effort to seek inspiration from my salad book. I can’t possibly post the same kind of salad on this blog every time I make one! So that shall be my incentive hehe.

As the temperature goes up, my salad cravings will go up as well, so I’m hoping to try at least 30 out of the 100+!

Salad No. 1

Ingredients:
Mixed greens
Colorful coleslaw (Green cabbage, Red cabbage, Carrots)
Zucchini
Cucumber
White Mushrooms
Tomatoes
Corn
Onions
Sunflower seeds

Salad No. 2

Ingredients:
Lettuce
Asparagus
Cherry tomatoes
Boiled egg
Grilled salmon filet
Capers

Salad No. 3

Ingredients:
Green leaves
Tomatoes
Cucumber
Crab meat (Goberge)
Brown toast
Garlic butter

I used Balsamic Vinaigrette for all 3 salads:
Salt & Pepper
Olive oil
Balsamic Vinegar

Instructions: Just chop everything, put everything in a bowl, add the dressing, mix and toss and serve.

P.s. To get out of my rut, I will try other salad dressings in the future! :)

5 thoughts on “Healthy Salads

  1. I have a trick for tomatoes if you find that they are always too sour. Cut them up as you’d like, then put them in a bowl, sprinkle a good amount of salt, to taste, and finish with olive oil. Try to balance the 3 ingredients until they mingle perfectly.

    Then you can just leave them while preparing the salad, The tomatoes will taste much better after a few minutes.
    You can also eat them as a simple delicious tomato salad, with a few herbs.
    Happy Cooking!

  2. Pingback: The Diet Solution Program - Day 2 through 5

Leave a Reply

