My First: Pork and Pickled Vegetable Dumplings

Since last year, I’ve experienced 3 “Ahaa I wanna make dumplings!!” moments.

1. One Summer night, I watched “The Road Home“, a great love drama where Zhang Ziyi made yummy-looking dumplings for the man she loved, and that inspired me to try making dumplings. But I didn’t and eventually forgot about it.

2. In December, when I went back home to visit, my Mom made some great dumplings, and I made a mental note to myself that I would attempt making my own when I come back. But I still didn’t and again forgot about it.

3. Last Friday, I went to one of the best dumplings restaurants in town and I finally decided that I wasn’t going to wait and forget about it again. So I rushed to the Chinese store the next day and got all the ingredients.

Perhaps I always thought that making dumplings is complicated and takes a long time, but it’s actually easier than we think. But I also didn’t make my own dumpling wrappers. I just bought them at the store for $2. I’m not a big fan of using flour and making dough… and I don’t know if I will ever be. :P

1IMG_8195

1IMG_8208

1IMG_8202

1IMG_8206

1IMG_8213

Ingredients

  • 30 round dumpling wrappers
  • 1 lb ground pork
  • 1 pack pickled vegetables, finely chopped
  • 1 cup mini Bok Choy, finely chopped (optional, for veggie lovers)
  • 1/2 cup of green onions
  • 1/2 tsp grated ginger, minced
  • 3 gloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp cornstarch
  • 1 tbsp soya sauce
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 1/2 tsp white and black pepper

Instructions

  • Put ground pork in a big bowl with soya sauce, sesame oil, pickled vegetables, mini Bok Choy, green onion, ginger, garlic, cornstarch, pepper and mix all ingredients well together.
  • Place a dumpling wrapper in your palm and spoon about a teaspoon of filling in the middle. Dip one finger into a bowl of water and cornstarch mix and wet the edge of the wrapper.
  • Bring up the bottom side of the wrapper, fold up and press to seal the dumpling. This blog explains the folding process really well, with close up images for each step.
  • Place the dumpling on a plate and repeat the process until the filing is over.
  • There are 4 ways to cook the dumplings.
  1. You can steam the dumplings for 20 minutes.
  2. You can cook them for 8-10 minutes in hot boiling water.
  3. You can pan-fry the dumplings in a pan with a little bit of oil for about 2 minutes per side, then pour 1 cup of water, cover and cook until tender, for about 5-7 minutes. Serve with soya sauce mixture, or hot chilli sauce.
  4. You can also make a soup with the dumplings and add some green leaves or noodles in.

Note: The pickled vegetable adds a very nice flavour to the dumplings! Since it is quite salty in nature, be careful not to use too much soya sauce or salt in the dumpling mixture. Anyway you can dip the dumplings in soya sauce before eating if they lack a bit of taste.

Cheers! =)

2 thoughts on “My First: Pork and Pickled Vegetable Dumplings

  1. Pingback: German Spaetzle Dumplings | LauraLovingLife

  2. Pingback: Pork Steamed Dumplings | LauraLovingLife

Leave a Reply

